Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Electronics that would pass european conformity tests?

Posted by Protonite 
Hello there.
I am new to this RepRap project, but i really starting to like it and i am actually thinking about building me a machine once i've sorted out sources for raw materials. And i'm not shure if i should just buy a Kit to get me going, or try to organize the stuff myself... (Not in a hurry, so i'll take my time to decide the best option)

Anyway to the topic of this thread. I was checking out the basic gen3 electronics to see what it offers, and to decide if i could live with it, or if i should invest the time make my own circuits.
Now, one thing that really bugs me on these electronics is that there are basically no protective circuits and no noise filtering components anywhere to be seen. Of course, you can say this is a "hobby-grade" or "do-it-yourself" machine and nobody cares about regulations and standards in this business and to begin with, you wanted to keep initial hardware costs as low as possible.

But i'd like to ask you, is this really the way such a "project for the masses" should be handled? And what about the people that actually want to sell assembled electronics for the guys and gals who do not have the equippment or knowledge to make everything at home?

Well, sooner or later you will run into the EMC (Electromagnetic Compatibility) directive, and probably some other (low voltage electronics) directives that would apply to this project.
Now, one thing that is pretty clear to me is that all this stuff has been ignored in all the electronics generations of the reprap, and as far as i could see, noone ever mentioned it or tryed to do something about it.