Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stepper Controller Board not working?

Posted by Josh 
Stepper Controller Board not working?
October 29, 2009 06:40AM
Hello all,

I have been trying to get a repstrap up and running for what seems life forever. It seems that the closer I get the more issues pop up.

I got 3 of the 2.3 stepper controllers from MakerBot and tried to hook them up. I will admit I am not the most careful with circuits (I am actually a mechanical engineer, dont know why I try to do electronics), but at the same time I do take precautions not to fry stuff.

Anyway, I have 3 boards and they are hooked up to my motors, and I am running them off of an old pc using a printer port. Now I hooked one up and everything worked perfectly, I am using only 3 of the pins on the ribbon cable that would normally go to the reprap mother board. these pins are ground, step, and direction. everything else is left unconnected. (I know, not the best practice)

Then I hooked up a second one, and it worked for one night. A few days later I attempted to hook up the third one. Things must have been moved or fiddled with, because I can only get the very first board to work.

Things i know:
*all the motors are fine, because I have interchanged them with the working board.
*the connections to my pc are fine, because I can interchange them with the board.

I don't see how i could have misconnected power, because the molex connector is keyed.

When I connect the power, the power led lights up, but I do not get any other leds light up for the motor coils like my working board does. the motor does not jump to life. I get no response from sending step signals, nor direction changes. Also the power led get dimmer as time goes on. if i disconnect the interface pins (step, direction, ground) the led get brighter again. Also the ic might be getting a little hotter then the other one, but it doesn't seem to be getting overly hot. nothing else seems hot.