Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need some help for the cables.

Posted by BoByS 
Need some help for the cables.
March 16, 2014 05:37AM
Dear friends!
It's Bobby here. I'm living in Bulgaria and I'm a mechanical engineer (bach and master degrees in Automation and Robotics) and now I'm studying PhD degree in Machine Elements.
I'm building my first printer now. I was looking for a good platform for me for about 6 months (yeah, I know it's a loooot time) and chose the Prusa i3 3D printer. I modified it a little bit and start building it. I have all of the parts, with a laser cut frame (b=10mm).
So, in short, I'm a mechanical guy, not an electrician. smiling smiley
I need some help with the cables from my power supply to the RAMPS 1.4 board. I bought 12V, 360W DC power supply on a sale in a local electronics shop. I know, that from the socket (~220V) I need to put 1.5mm^2 cables to the power supply (Yeah, I have a good jack from an ATX power supply). But from the output of the power supply, cables with which diameter I need to put? Based on the formula, I think that 4mm^2 will be good enought, but I still need a help..
I've made a quick and ugly diagram. smiling smiley Please, excuse me for it! In short:
1) 1.5 mm^2 - for the LNG cables;
2) ??? - for the yellow and black cables;
3) ??? - for the heated bed's D08 purple cables.

Sorry about the metric units, too, but I'm really poor in AWG conversation.
Best regards,
Bobby

P.S. Sorry about my lame questions, but these 30Amps really confuse me. The RAMPS board have only 11 and 5 Amps sockets...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/16/2014 05:44AM by BoByS.
Attachments:
open | download - Wiring_Diagram_RAMPS.JPG (84.3 KB)
Re: Need some help for the cables.
March 17, 2014 04:59PM
BoByS
Based on the formula, I think that 4mm^2 will be good enought, but I still need a help..