Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My little ARM board

Posted by Mallgan.O 
My little ARM board
March 21, 2014 05:48AM
Hi
I have been thinking of designing a controller board myself for a while now and have recently started drafting up a schematic. Since I am not very good at programming I was hoping to stay in the comfort of 8bit but have given up on xmega that I hoped to be embraced by the devs. Now when Arduino due is here I thougt that if I choose a MCU in the ATSAM3 family maybe I could manage porting to a smaller chip.
What I want to do is make a simple bare minimum controller board that focuses on robustness and reliability rather than flexibility and lot of functionality. With help from Ambrop7, the developer of APrinter firmware, who also have offered to help me with software, I decided to make a board with ATSAM3SxA. The chip is available with 64k, 128k and 256k flash.

I am starting out with making a developement board with just the MCU, voltage regulator, USB and the pins fanned out on sockets to evaluate the chip and decide on functional pinout. The board is 50X50mm in size to fit prototype PCB service outline. Step 2 is to make a plug-in board with the driver circuitry.

The component values in the present version of the schematic should be considered under investigation but I thought I can present it here anyway to see if I can get som feedback and suggestions.

Any input is welcome smiling smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/21/2014 05:49AM by Mallgan.O.
Attachments:
open | download - Schematic v0.001.GIF (36.7 KB)
open | download - Layout.GIF (37.1 KB)
Re: My little ARM board
March 22, 2014 07:59AM
Will only make one suggestion:

Make sure that the USB connector shield is NOT connected to ground by default. Provide a jumper for this purpose (if people want it), but don't make it hard wired.