Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Arduino and G-Codeconfused smiley

October 19, 2014 12:05PM
Hello all,
I am a student in mechanical engineering (mechanical design and production engineering),
I can not understand how the Arduino board understands the G-Code when we use it for a RepRap, how it can be able to output (HIGH) and (LOW) to a specific pin that we need to send the command (HIGH\LOW) to ,,
note: I am a beginner in RepRap and 3D printing and I don't know much things about this technology, also I am just in 1st year in my college.
Thanks, and sorry for my not very good English language smiling smiley
Re: Arduino and G-Codeconfused smiley
October 19, 2014 12:55PM
You should take a look at some arduino stepper motor control examples before diving into Gcode and 3d printers. Basicaly it is a combination of processing /interpreting a stream of textual information, doing some pretty complex calculations based on the information and then using the result of that computation to control motors and other outputs.
You shoul really start with some basic Arduino examples.

[www.bonkers.de]
[merlin-hotend.de]
[www.hackerspace-ffm.de]
October 19, 2014 01:42PM
Download arduino IDE
Download marlin.

Read the marlin code.
Its all about code. If you speak code, it will be all easy to understand.

As i dont speak code. I dont understand.

I know objects are sliced into layers. These layers are given a X.Y.Z coordinate.
The arduino tell the ramps to move the stepper motor until they reach these coordinates.
Then the electronics comands plastic to extrude.

This happens layer by layer until you have an object.

It uses the processor of the arduino.
The shoots commands out of the many pins from the processor.

All these electronics amd pinouts are open-source.
Google them and look at the specs.
October 20, 2014 02:30PM
I've used an online viewer a few times and I quite like it, should work regardless of platform:
[gcode.ws]

/Andreas
October 22, 2014 07:37AM