Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Rambo 1.1B 2 heated beds and 1 extruder?

Posted by doomstrike 
Rambo 1.1B 2 heated beds and 1 extruder?
December 05, 2014 01:34AM
Hi guys,

I'm building a scaled up version of a Lautr3k. What I want to know is if the Rambo 1.1B board can be used to power 2 heated beds and 1 extruder instead of the default 2 extruders and 1 heated bed. I have close to no knowledge regarding electronics from an electrical engineering point of view and wondering if this is possible or if I'll just damage the Rambo board or blow it's fuse if I even try. Hoping to be able to build a print area that's around 600mm x 600mm smiling smiley

I realize i would have to go and make firmware changes for it and I'm not worried about that aspect as I am a programmer.
Re: Rambo 1.1B 2 heated beds and 1 extruder?
December 05, 2014 08:51AM
Not without some hacks if you're running at 12V. The default board only has a single high-current (15amps) output for a heated bed. Hooking up two standard 10+amps heated beds to the single heated bed output, or trying to repurpose one of the extruder outputs for a heated bed will blow the fuse if you're running 12v. If you go up to 24v, then your current needs are halved so you could operate two heated beds off the same output. Alternatively, you could use relay (very cheap, but annoying noisy clicks), solid state relay (easiest and silent, but more expensive), or a fairly simple mosfet circuit (cheap, but some electrical and soldering skills needed) to act as a switch that's triggers the heated bed.
December 07, 2014 06:45AM