Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen 3 electronics -can anyoone clarify?

Posted by AgeingHippy 
Gen 3 electronics -can anyoone clarify?
May 25, 2010 06:22AM
Hello all

Is there anyone who can point me to a resource that explains how and why the circuits do what they do?

cheers
Re: Gen 3 electronics -can anyoone clarify?
May 25, 2010 06:29AM
May 25, 2010 08:38AM
Hi Nudel

Thanks for that, but no - that tells us how to build the board, but not why it works.

I am a novice as far as electronic circuits are concerned and am trying to learn how to design a board to do what I want it to do.

Part of the process is trying to understand how the Gen 3 boards work...

see here where I try understand the workings of the simplest board - the opto endstop.

cheers
May 25, 2010 10:25AM
One resource you may wish to explore is a circuit simulator. You can place components and link them up and simulate their operation, e.g. you could place all the opto-endstop components, apply voltage, simulate triggering the stop etc. LEDs will light up, you can place voltmeters and graph voltage, current meters for current, etc.

Here is one that I used in college:
NI Multisim
they have a demo version available here:
Multisim Evaluation Download

I'm sure there are several others, I just can't think of any right now.

Here is another huge resource, almost as much as a text book.
[www.allaboutcircuits.com]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 05/25/2010 10:28AM by jeffpark_.

----
[www.binaryconstruct.com]
June 03, 2010 03:36AM
AgeingHippy:

Trying to answer your question at a "high level"

There are essentially a few key parts:
1 - the main Arduino(Sanguino) CPU on the motherboard ( which is responsible for converting GCODE instructions into stepper motor step/direction information for 3 steppers on X, Y, and Z, AND the stepper driver on the "extruder".