Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Dual Y Axis Stepper Motor set up

Posted by RBuster 
Dual Y Axis Stepper Motor set up
February 25, 2015 06:45PM
As a complete newbe, I have questions on driving 2 Stepper motors with one driver. I understand one field must be switched in order to drive the same direction, but my concern is what voltage and amperage issues arise when driving both with one driver. Voltage is divided which would cause the Amps to double... Can the drivers on a Replicape handle two motors??

Thank you for your consideration
RBuster
Re: Dual Y Axis Stepper Motor set up
February 25, 2015 06:57PM
I obviously placed this in the wrong category...
February 26, 2015 04:34AM
RBuster
[...] Voltage is divided which would cause the Amps to double... [...]

If refering to having the motors in wired in series, then coil of first motor becomes in series with same coil of the other motor. Voltage does indeed divide among coils, but the amps do not double. Coils being wired in series its the same current circulating in both. So the amps also decrease, because the current finds it harder to circulate on both parts if they are in series coz their resistance (impedance) adds together forming a bigger value. So voltage divides between coils, and current gets lower (proportionally with the values of both serialized coils added together).