Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

DIY project: homemade electronics?

Posted by Niben 
DIY project: homemade electronics?
April 07, 2015 11:49AM
I'm fairly new to the world of 3D printing, altough i've worked with these machines before, but i've decided to build my own printer now. My question is: how can I use marlin for my own controller board, so i'm just using the arduino mega 2560, but I do not use ramps or any of the other default boards. I have made myself a mother board with stepper motor driver boards on it, but how to i use Marlin now? Do i have to make myself a declaration for this board?

I hope someone has done this before, so someone can help me!

Niben
Re: DIY project: homemade electronics?
April 07, 2015 12:28PM
You have to create two header files with the description of your board see here for examples:

[github.com]
April 08, 2015 10:56AM
Again, i'm a complete beginner, but I think I partly understand what you mean.
So i have to create a folder like the ones in the link you sended me. But in most of them, there is two files indeed, a configuration.h file and a configuration_adv.h file. And in these files there is a huge bunch of ajustable code. But i do not see any places where the pins of the arduino are assigned to certain functions. For example, i do not see to which arduino pins the motor drivers are connected. Moreover: i do not use the standard motor drivers, but i use different IC motor drivers, the L293E to be precise. So what do i have to do?

Hope I do not ennoy you, but i really hope you can help me!

Niben
April 08, 2015 11:48AM
Take a look at the pins.h file
April 08, 2015 12:14PM
Niben
i do not use the standard motor drivers, but i use different IC motor drivers, the L293E to be precise. So what do i have to do?