Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New MKS SBASE Smoothieware-compatible board from China

Posted by vreihen 
Re: New MKS SBASE Smoothieware-compatible board from China
October 27, 2015 12:09PM
Does it make any difference, if you use the sd-card slot on the SBase instead of the TFT?
-Olaf
October 27, 2015 04:17PM
I tried to update TFT by inserting TFT update sd card to the sd socket on the TFT28 and
update SBASE by inserting sd with SBASE update in the sd card socket on the SBASE PCB.
SBASE sd card is acessible in PC when USB is connected but the TFT sd card is not.
The interface cable between SBASE and TFT has uart connection with handshaking but
not SPI. So I dont imagine how the SD on TFT could be used for updating SBASE without
additional SPI cable, but Im very new to this smiling smiley
October 28, 2015 04:42AM
Problems solved. One of my SD cards (256Mcool smiley didnt work for some reason and the oher one was formatted as NTFS.
Now it updates fine smiling smiley
October 30, 2015 09:29PM
I would like to recommend that people NOT buy the MKS SBASE. Here's why:

arthurwolf
The SBASE is a closed-source clone of open-source hardware, which takes everything from the community, and doesn't contribute anything back ( not even it's own documentation … ). It's generally considered a nasty board, and it's likely you won't get as much support for it from the community as you would for other boards.

The general idea for closed-source boards like this is : if it doesn't work, contact the seller, you shouldn't expect the community to get it's work stolen *and* have to provide support for the stealers … Sorry if I sound rude I don't mean to at all, but lots of people don't actually know what they are buying when they get a SBASE so I just wanted to make that clear.

Taken from a post on the smoothieware.org forum by arthur wolf who is the smoothie creator. [smoothieware.org]

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/30/2015 09:29PM by HylandSquid.