Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Duet 0.8.5 with 2 Z-Axis Steppers

Posted by Pole04 
Duet 0.8.5 with 2 Z-Axis Steppers
January 12, 2016 09:14PM
Ok so I got my new shiny Duet 0.8.5 in today and I realized I may have made a mistake...

I am new to 3D printing and I am learning as I go, so please excuse me if I am missing something terribly obvious here.

I have two steppers that drive my Z-Axis, on my old board there were two headers for the Z-Axis, but on the Duet there is only one. Can I use the E1 header to drive the second stepper and just make a configuration change, or is there another way to drive the second stepper without purchasing a Duex? I don't mind the added expense of the Duex, but I don't see that I really have a need for it at the moment.

Thanks,
Pole
Re: Duet 0.8.5 with 2 Z-Axis Steppers
January 12, 2016 10:33PM
dont trust me here entirely, but if i recall the documentaion i read regarding correctly this they are simply connected in parallel - so you could alternatively disassamble the plugs of both and put both cables into the same plug (same color wires to same pin, it should be possible to double them) or create an adapter which doubles the pins available (called Y Cable)

wait for confirmation of others though - i am not absolutely sure on this one (and also new to 3d printing)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/12/2016 10:34PM by UniTrader.
January 12, 2016 10:57PM
Hey thanks for the suggestion. Definitely something I am capable of and a quick cheap solution. I will wait for someone else to chime in and confirm before I get to work.

Thanks!
January 13, 2016 03:53AM
The best way to drive two Z steppers from a Duet and most other printer electronics is to connect them in series, not parallel. This is how RepRapPro wire them in their Mendel and Huxley kits. Parallel connection is only better if the motors have a rated current of 0.8A or lower and voltage above 4V.