Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Gen7-ARM released!

Posted by Traumflug 
VDX
Re: Gen7-ARM released!
February 23, 2016 04:51PM
... I have some bad experiences with software-set pots, currents and such - especially with digi-pots, which are set per I2C or SPI at boot-time eye rolling smiley

While a discrete pot can be secured with a droplet of glue, software current controls can misread/write or go bad without forewarnings ... had two occasions, where pretty expensive hardware started to fume, because a (high-quality) digipot caught a wrong setting at startup sad smiley

Viktor
--------
Aufruf zum Projekt "Müll-freie Meere" - [reprap.org] -- Deutsche Facebook-Gruppe - [www.facebook.com]

Call for the project "garbage-free seas" - [reprap.org]
February 24, 2016 04:22AM
If I 'm not wrong, this thread is about a DIY board which is obviously of interest to people that, to put it politely, have the necessary knowledge required to adjust a little pot.
This feature is a nice-tho-have-but-wont-be-missed type of thing in this context, at least that's how I see it smiling smiley

Nice design, well done @Traumflug.
February 24, 2016 06:18AM
I believe it's in all best interest to learn a bit about electronics while working on their printer. I know nothing about electronics but with all the chinese part i've orded for my build I included a multimeter and a gas soldering pen. I adjusted the pots with the help of the multimeter in minutes and used the formula on the polulu website for the kind of motor I had. It was really piece of cake.

I would guess that having the option for both would be even better but only if the firmware knows what to do with it and wouldn't hurt more, as VDX mentioned.