Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ramps 1.4 Flaws still a issue?

Posted by esimacio 
Ramps 1.4 Flaws still a issue?
August 10, 2016 06:29AM
In 2014 Thomas Sanladerer publish this [www.youtube.com] video on his youtube channel. In this video he is adressing 2 flaws that this board has. Is these flaws still an issue 2 years after?
The first thing he adressed was the polyfuses, that they are not strong enough, he recommended to use a automobil fuse instead. The seccond issue was the green power connectors that are made to take 10 amps only, and that they can overheat and melt. He recommended to solder the wires directly on the board.

Can any of you confirm if these issues still is a problem ? or maybe Tom himself if he read this.

I am very new to 3D Printing an bulilding a Prusa i3 Rework, have ordered a Ramps 1.4

Esimacio
Re: Ramps 1.4 Flaws still a issue?
August 10, 2016 07:38AM
If you shop around, and nope

In fact its now worse, with cheap board from china with connecters that are nothing like the correct spec, especially the heated bed. Some also supply crappy (not to spec) poly fuses.

Decent green connectors work fine, but people do silly thing, not screwing down the terminal hard enough, or soldering the cable ends (this make the connection worse)

You can now get the ramps 1.4.2 from limited suppliers, that has real fuses, but this board is limited to 12v, can't do 24 without replacing components

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/10/2016 07:39AM by Dust.
August 10, 2016 10:14AM
Thank you so much for responding to my questions. Well yes i did order from china, so what do you recommend that I do other than buying a new "real" one? I have in longer terms planned a Rambo instead of seperate Arduino and Ramps. Will I be able to use this board if I do some
improvment modifacations?

Esimacio
August 10, 2016 06:20PM
If you are on a tight budget, buy Arduino/RAMPS because nothing else is as cheap. If you can afford something better, go 32-bit.