Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Problem with my stepper motor

Posted by Lawrey 
Problem with my stepper motor
February 09, 2011 08:14AM
I'm having problem with the motor that I bought..I'm very new with these things so I don't know what to do..
I don't know how to connect the 5 pins of my motor to a battery or something..I'm planning to use it as an electricity producer like on electricity produce in pedaling..Its wire is different from the other..it's more like a ribbon than a wire to me..Help me please..and also.. I don't know much about this motor..

Here is the link to the picture..sorry for the bad quality of the picture and for the picture because the end of the wire thing was not captured...I just found it.
[st4.sulitstatic.com]

Edit: I'd just found this on the motor I don't know if this will help
14769070-90
14PM-M204-P2

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/09/2011 08:20AM by Lawrey.
Re: Problem with my stepper motor
February 09, 2011 09:25AM
You can't use steppers that way, these things are driven by pulses of energy in sequence to drive them between steps, when rotated by hand they generate similar pulses. If you want to use a motor as a dynamo, you need a DC motor.
February 09, 2011 09:30AM
I wasn't really able to find any information using those part numbers. Sorry. They do seem to be parts numbers though, so a deeper search may reveal a data sheet for that part with all the information you need.

However, you did mention that it had five wires? If correct you won't be able to use that motor with standard reprap electronics. See the "stepper wiring" page on the wiki.

As for the ribbon cable, there was no picture of the end of the cable, does it have a connector of some sort on it? If it doesn't, you can simple cut a bit between the wires, and then pull them apart for easy access. It looked from the picture like it had a lot more than 5 wires though. Count them?

--
I'm building it with Baling Wire
February 09, 2011 09:34AM