Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Channel usage on Controller

Posted by Inq 
Inq
Channel usage on Controller
March 25, 2019 02:35PM
Hello RepRap forum. This is my first post and I want to dive in making my own printer. I’ve been printing for about 8 months now on a Prusa i3 Mk3 kit that I assembled and am hooked with the 3D printing. I hope this is the correct sub-forum for these questions.

Background Info – Mainly, I’m wanting to make a large printer and I have some questions. I’ve purchased a MKS Gen-L Controller kit which looks to be similar to that in the Mk3. Although it comes with A4988 drivers, I understand I can swap those out for TMC2130 drivers that will give me the limit feedback like the Mk3 that I think I’ll need.

1 – I know the 5 channels are conventionally set up for X, Y, Z, E0 and E1. Is my assumption correct that these can be allocated differently? In that vein…

2 - The Mk3 has two Z motors and to sync them, the Mk3 drives them to the top until they hit and thus know that the X arm is level. Are they logically driven as 2 channels and each stops based on its own TMC2130 driver feedback OR are they on just 1 common channel and the first motor skips steps once it jams until both are jammed?

3 – If the channels can be allocated differently, can I have, for instance, 4 Z-motors driven off 4 of the 5 available channels? Although I am not married to 4 Z-motors, I don’t really see using 1 motor with belts synchronizing the 4 corners any easier a problem in my case. Manually syncing the 4 corners by loosening the cog on a corner’s shaft isn’t ideal… especially regularly.

4 - What, in general, topic would I need to start researching to achieve the above… modifying the controller board (jumpers or soldering) or what piece of software would I modify? I’m not sure if there is a distinction between Marlin and the controller’s firmware. I think they are synonymous.