Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reprogram or replace?

Posted by Madaxe 
Reprogram or replace?
November 01, 2019 05:43AM
Hi, I’m really a beginner at 3D printing, even though i have been doing it now for a number of years.

I have a very small machine which I got very cheap a few years ago, and while it’s not the best, after a lot of tinkering and adjusting I have managed to make a lot of good prints out of it. The only problem is that the print area is too small (90x90x90mm), I’ve out grown it and want to print larger things. So i have decided just to increase the size of my machine while keeping the same motors, switches, etc. and this is where the problem comes in. The problem is that I’m changing the Z-axis to a belt drive so i will need to reconfigure the settings, however I cannot find any information on the board I have to enable me to re-flash it.

It appears to be based on an arduino mega, with an attached “RepRap Discount Smart Controller”. So I’m hoping i can just plug it into my PC and flash it with the latest version of marlin, configure it and away i go...

Can anyone shed a little light on this subject? I really don’t want to buy another controller because this one works fine and I’m trying keep the cost down.

Thanks in advance

Jason
Attachments:
open | download - 0AD15C2C-C95A-471D-BFF7-CF865272FE9A.jpeg (711.1 KB)
open | download - B828BA27-BB2F-4DD2-B563-866B197ED289.jpeg (602.4 KB)
Re: Reprogram or replace?
November 01, 2019 06:05AM
There is a spelling error on your board.

Typical for Chinese products, the name is Borlee3D
[www.aniwaa.com]

You might be able to find out more by looking for this brand.

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
November 01, 2019 06:44AM
If you can find a pins definition, or trace out all the pins or get the firmware source code so you can extract the information... If not it will be far easier to get a modern controller
November 01, 2019 08:09AM