New replaceable stepper driver form-factor
December 14, 2019 04:59PM
Greetings,

I've been designing my own controllers for about two years now. I really find the StepStick form factor to be limiting in two ways:

a) the board real estate is quite small and one has trouble fitting larger ICs like TMC2660 or TCM5161
b) the cooling on these is not great, because you have only one side exposed

On the other hand I have grown to appreciate the ability to quickly swap the drivers, when a new IC comes along with better features.

Here is a proposal:

Design a new form factor using PCIe 1x slot as base. The drivers would stack vertically which would provide cooling on both sides. Can have a bit more latitude with respect to the driver board size (my current experiment is around 40x40mm). PCIe 1x has 36 pins, which allows for more interesting things like automatic chain ID assignment.

Here are some pictures of my experimental design:
Google photos shared album

For reference this is a link to the board and driver schematics.
GitHub.com
Thoughts?
Re: New replaceable stepper driver form-factor
December 14, 2019 07:27PM
This has been tried before.... wy back in 2015 [reprap.org]

It never took off....
December 14, 2019 07:50PM
Main issue is retention... there is nothing stopping these cards wiggling or being pulled out by gravity and or repeated thermal expansion and contraction.

Then their is looks... people like things in the so called golden ratio... with card like this on such small controller board, it just looks ugly!
December 16, 2019 04:17AM
Thank you for the feedback.
December 16, 2019 12:52PM
Instead of mounting them on the controller board, is there any reason not to mount them on the stepper itself?
December 16, 2019 01:56PM
frankvdh
Instead of mounting them on the controller board, is there any reason not to mount them on the stepper itself?