Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

SKR V1.3 stepper motor power leads

Posted by catmandu 
SKR V1.3 stepper motor power leads
February 15, 2020 01:36PM
Hello. This is probably a very simple question, but given that this is my first attempt at design and build of a delta i would like to make sure that I am doing the right thing before damaging anything. I am using nema 17 4 wire motors that were controlled by an arduino mega. I have found the coil pairs which are the same on all 4 motors (X,Y,Z,E) the 2 on the left of the plug are a pair and the 2 on the right are a pair, so I assume that one pair are 1a 2a and the other 1b2b. My problem is which is which (or does it not matter as long as they are a pair?). I ask because the pins on the SKR board are 1b1a2a2b and so I will need to fit new plugs. Do I need to know which is which ie: would it be a problem if they were 1b2a1a2b for instance. Thanks in advance for any assistance with this.
Re: SKR V1.3 stepper motor power leads
February 15, 2020 07:31PM
The wiring naming convention is from the original pololu modules.

As you can see one coil is 1a1b the second coil is 2a2b. So pin 1 and 2 is one coil and pin 3 and 4 is the second coil.

So your cables are correct,

It doesnt mater wich way about coil 1 and coil 2 go, this will just reverse the direction of the stepper motor.
February 16, 2020 01:36PM