Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

5 Axis CNC Milling Machine - Ramps 1.4 Arduino Mega 2560

Posted by euanfoster 
5 Axis CNC Milling Machine - Ramps 1.4 Arduino Mega 2560
July 21, 2015 06:12PM
Hello all,

I am a recent mechanical engineering graduate and have been working on a design for a 5 axis Opensource CNC milling machine. I have now finished the mechanical design of it all but I am seeking help with the electronic side of it all and am wanting to run it by a few more experienced people before I actually depart with some hard earned cash.

From my research if you don't want to have to use parallel ports and have good free software to drive your board, you run into quite a few problems. Mach3 and LinuxCNC/EMC2 are by far the most common programs and I have used them before, but since I have now left university I don't have access to a computer with a parallel port and have no plans on buying one, this presents a pretty peculiar problem. I then stumbled upon this post - [forum.arduino.cc] - which some clever guys have moded linux cnc to run on an Arduino Mega2560. Great, the best free software with no old out dated ports! This drove my design!