Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepStrippa, my plans on a multifunction 3D printer smiling smiley Comments are welcome, let me know your thoughts

Posted by Gordie 
RepStrippa, my plans on a multifunction 3D printer smiling smiley Comments are welcome, let me know your thoughts
February 21, 2014 06:33AM
Hello everyone, I'm here to discuss with you and to present my multifunction 3D printer.
First of all thanks in advance for reading this and commenting; I'm an italian guy with the DIY "mindview" and with the artisan lifestyle, I like to recycle but, most important, to change people mind on recycling everything they can.
In this way I started some years ago an artist/music project with handmade musical instruments ripped off from wasted electronics stuff. I also love hardware and toys hacking (aka circuit bending).
While building up mine own instruments I find some difficulties on having some parts with the shape I wanted. Also, I'm a student and I cannot afford the costs of third parts productions. So one day I decided to build a CNC router, then I discoverred the 3D printing world and now I'm here with my ideas. smiling smiley

RepStrippa features:
  1. 3D printing
  2. 3D scanning
  3. Dremel engraving/milling
  4. Laser engraving
  5. Paper/vinyl cutting
a) This is a classic Cartesian printer, print mainly PLA (go organic!). Printing area of 300x300mm, it will have an hot chamber enclosure with exaust air exit for ABS, the carrier will be in a shape that it can mount every kind of extruder; also multi extruding is in my thoughts, like an X (crossed) mount with 4 hotends at the four ends (printing area 140x140).
b) With a servo motor there will be a rolling plate, for objects to be scanned. With simple internal walls as background and a photocamera, some leds to light up and a classic laser pointer.