Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

50w chinese laser keeps firing during cutting process

Posted by dikko440 
50w chinese laser keeps firing during cutting process
June 18, 2017 11:37AM
Hi People, I am a complete newbie to laser cutting/engraving and am not so technically minded. so, please be gentle with me. Let me set the scene. 3 months ago I bought a 50w CO2 "Chinese" laser cutter/engraver., for my wife to use for her crafting shed. initial setup and alignment went better than expected, resulting in good cuts/engraving. 3 weeks ago the laser started to arc, after watching YouTube videos I had the confidence to purchase and replace the laser tube. After installing the new laser tube, realignment went well and to be honest I surprised myself with what a good job I had done. However. When I tried to cut/engrave a piece that had good results with former tube I found that I was left with marks where the former laser didn't leave marks previously. It's as if the laser is not "loosing/dropping" power between cut lines / engraving lines resulting in unusable projects. If anyone could help with anything to try / ideas could they please reply to this post. I understand this is a rambling post, but as mentioned am a newbie and do not understand the "rules" of forums...... sorry in advance for my ignorance, but, please help if you can. Thank you.
VDX
Re: 50w chinese laser keeps firing during cutting process
June 18, 2017 12:43PM
... your best source for detailed information would be the vendor ... but, as this are chinese (extreme low quality) products, gettig usefull infos for them could be an adventure on its own eye rolling smiley

My bet is, that the new tube needs different specs for the voltage levels for the threshold (below threshold voltage the laser would be OFF, above ON).

But could be too, that your power source and driver can't be adjusted properly for this tube ...

Viktor
--------