Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building a laser cutter. any tips?

Posted by davedavedave 
Building a laser cutter. any tips?
April 27, 2016 12:36AM
Hi, I just finished building a 3d printer and want to take on the laser cutter challenge. it will be completely my own design so I have to buy parts since it wont be a kit. I was just curious as to what I am missing on my list. I have a spare Arduino + ramps 1.4 laying around with 3 extra stepper drivers luckily enough for me. so far ive compiled a list and looked at tons of of guides but what I don't understand completely is the concept of focal length and depth of focus. I took a cinematography class that focused massively on that so I am somewhat familiar but not sure if the same applies, and even if it did I didn't really understand it all to well either way since that is not what I am studying for anyways.

so this is the list.
1- co2 laser head [www.ebay.com]
1- 40w co2 tube
1- 40w psu for laser cutter(has the needed functions specifically for laser cutter use)
1- 20mm mirror + lense(s)
1- Some sort of base for the material to be cut to be laid on.
1- some form of curly/straight cable for fumes to be absorbed through from laser head? I still don't understand the use of the malleable tube I see coming out of every laser head) sad smiley

(most of the materials I already have are extras from the 3d printer I built. like end stops, linear shafts, gt2 belts+pulleys, t-slots etc).
I still need to decide on a cooling unit(probably water pump)

since I am designing the enclosure then it shouldn't be an issue for size. but I'm thinking something along the lines of 24x24 if possible(for future size upgrades)

I want to cut acrylic less than 6mm thickness. more than likely ill be mainly cutting 3 mil on average.