Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

240 mW laser pointer for $189 - what do you think about it?

Posted by Howie 
240 mW laser pointer for $189 - what do you think about it?
February 21, 2008 02:54AM
Just found this site: [www.nitroxlasers.com]

They offer 240 mW at 650 nm Sony DVD burner laser mounted in MinMaglite housing for $189. Is this for real? Would you recommend it? Buy it? Any other application for this 'dangerous toy'?

I am a mechanical newbie - so please tell me how do I use such a beast (focus it) for laser cutting?

Howie

--
Airspace V - international hangar flying!
[www.airspace-v.com] for tools and toys
Re: 240 mW laser pointer for $189 - what do you think about it?
February 21, 2008 03:17AM
240mW is probably only good for party tricks or eye damage! I doubt it would even cut paper (I'm no expert). I have just received a 10W laser and running at 1.5w with a 0.3mm

Ian
[www.bitsfrombytes.com]
VDX
February 21, 2008 04:20AM
Hi Howie,

... it's an extreme dangerous 'toy' which can melt and burn good absorbing plastic, but for normal use as sintering-laser or CNC-carving it has not enough power, so the application will be very slow and extreme limited in possible materials.

The only application i see for reprapping or LOM-fabbing is cutting contours in thin sheets of black plastic (or other good absorbing and easy melting materials).

I built a diode-laser-welding-system with a comercial pigtailed diode-laser for 300 Euros with an atached glass-fibre with 100 micron diameter and 8 Watt output-power at 975nm.

This is much better for cutting, carvin/engraving and sintering and not so much expensiver - but you have to build a good power-source too, so i'll calculate 200 Euros more ...

But all capable laser-systems are extreme dangerous in handling and can cause severe damages in the eyes and on the skin and produce hazardous and carzinogene fumes, so i didn't recomend this way for common use!

Viktor
February 21, 2008 07:49PM