Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

very rough prototype pick place head type thingy

Posted by John Meacham 
very rough prototype pick place head type thingy
May 05, 2008 11:47AM
While waiting for the parts for an actual reprap, I decided to play with some parts I had around and some shapelock and try to make a picker placer head type thing. The idea is using a vaccum, it can arbitrarily place objects in 3 dimensions. The thing is real rough, but I was wondering if anyone had any comments on the basic design. I am mainly a programmer and have very little experience building mechanical things in the real world (which shows greatly in this prototype), but was wondering what people thought.

[notanumber.net]
Re: very rough prototype pick place head type thingy
May 05, 2008 03:04PM
That is again some great work. I think that if you added an axis which allowed for the whole tilt head to swivel you would have a robust design that could essentially place objects anywhere. Great work, and could you post that arduino interface code for the Wii nunchuck? I am thinking of getting one and playing around with it.

Jay
May 05, 2008 03:57PM
John,
That's a clever mechanism. I made a vacuum pump for a similar application from an aquarium pump. It normally blows but I sealed the case with glue and attached a pipe to its air inlet hole. I also made a three way valve to turn the vacuum on and off sharply with a solenoid. Some pictures and details here: [hydraraptor.blogspot.com]

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
May 05, 2008 04:43PM
Cool! smileys with beer
May 05, 2008 07:16PM
That's pretty swank. I may have to get me one of those wii nunchucks.

The pick and place system looks like it could be very functional given a bit more work. nice work

Demented
May 06, 2008 12:00AM
Good stuff. I am very impressed. Can't wait for when little gadgets like this can be effortlessly replicated!
May 06, 2008 12:48AM