Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Nanotech st5709s1208 and other steppers maximum speed

Posted by govind 
Nanotech st5709s1208 and other steppers maximum speed
August 05, 2009 03:48AM
Hi All,

I am using the Nanotech ST5709S1208 (0.9 degree, 400 steps for a revolution) motor in bipolar configuration to rotate a light mirror mounted on its shaft. I have constructed a driver circuit using a half bridge circuit and a PIC16 microcontroller. I find that the maximum I can drive this motor is about 1.25 - 1.4 revolutions per second without the mirror loosing step. I have tried microstepping the motor with half/8/16 and 32 steps and though I can increase the stepping frequency as the number of microsteps increases, the speed of rotation of the motor is still about 1.25 rps. This is a bit too slow for my optical scanning application and I have a feeling that I may be doing something else wrong since I am new to stepper motors. To control the motor I use a chopping waveform of 20kHz and a linear velocity profile to attain max speed

I would like to know what any of your experience is regarding the maximum speed of this motor in particular and steppers in general and why do you think I might be getting such a low speed in spite of the fact that the torque I require is quite low (load = small, light mirror) ?

Thanks in advance!
Govind

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 08/05/2009 05:47AM by govind.
Re: Nanotech st5709s1208 and other steppers maximum speed
August 05, 2009 06:02AM
The things that limit the speed are the torque required to accelerate the inertia of the rotor and the mirror, and the inductance of the coils.

To go faster you will probably need to have a few steps of accelaration to get started, and deceleration to stop.