Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Engineering drawings of RepRap parts

Posted by Sergii 
Engineering drawings of RepRap parts
October 07, 2008 06:32PM
Hello everyone,

I'm sorry for the very basic question, but I'm a newbie, and I spend few days trying to solve the problem.

I'm trying to build a RepRap mechanics. As long as I want to order the things from a workshop, I need something like engineering drawings with all dimensions of the RepRap parts.

Can you please tell me, how can I get engineering drawings of all necessary mechanical parts for my first RepRap Darwin? I've found and downloaded .stl files of everything, however, I have no idea how to determine dimensions of an object. I've tried to look in AOI files, but also I found graphical representation only, without any technical information, necessary to create the part.

Is there any way to export 3D objects into classical 2D images (front, horizontal, vertical), with the dimensions in mm (or in).

Thank you very much for your answer.

Sergii
Re: Engineering drawings of RepRap parts
October 07, 2008 08:37PM
What do you want the dimensions for? confused smiley
October 07, 2008 11:32PM
Not nice, Forest... ;-)

I think I can help you out with part of that...I posted the millable extruder pieces here
[forums.reprap.org]
There are no guanrantees as to accuracy of my drawings so take what you can get. They have been milled--mostly as they are--and work so you should be okay as long as you proceed carefully.

Demented
October 08, 2008 12:05AM
Demented Chihuahua Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Not nice, Forest... ;-)>
>
I've seen this over and over. People come on-board and immediately ask for measured drawings. My question is, what are you intending to use them for? You want to frame them and put them in your den? You use STL's to generate print instructions or milling instructions. eye rolling smiley
October 08, 2008 02:36AM