Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First printer build

Posted by melb_maker 
First printer build
March 02, 2016 07:03AM
Hay every one

I am attempting to get into 3d printing and am in the process of building my first machine. Other than 1 year of playing around with my cnc router I am a complete novice when it comes to 3d printing so I have come here to find some advice and support.

I probably should have joined up and checked my idea before getting my parts. . . . but I tend to rush into things. This is what I was thinking and have so far
I am trying to do it on the cheap but want but I still want a quality printer. Here is what im thinking. A 3 axis machine with all axis driven by GT2 balt and yes I know about the z dropping issue but if a GT2 belt is good enough for the XY why not the Z right? I want the print space to be larger than X 250mm Y 600mm Z 300mmi also want more than 1 print head.
Each axis will be driven by open GT2 belts 1 on the X 2 on the Y and 4 on the Z. not shore of the stepper configuration yet but I would like to use ramps, I have made a 18mm plywood box to house it in and started on the X axis as shown in the photo

Am I heading in the right direction, or am I making a mistake that will limit my speed/quality?

I am a little bit stuck when it comes to motor selection, I have a G540 Geckodrive Stepper Controller driver at my disposal, can I wire this into ramps?

What type of stepper should I use? Should I use more then 1 motor per axis? I was thinking of using a nema23 1.9Nm 2.8A but the voltage is only rated to 3.2V, I think my driver is running 24v steppers at the moment with a 48v supply will the G540 work with them steppers with micro stepping accuracy?

is there any way I can drive more then 6 drivers with ramps? I may want to have more then 3 extruders one day

Any input would be greatly appreciated

Thank you

Nick
Re: First printer build
March 02, 2016 07:21AM
cad
Attachments:
open | download - cad1.png (276.5 KB)