Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

sad smileyExtruder Keeps jamming

Posted by WClampitt1 
sad smileyExtruder Keeps jamming
March 11, 2016 12:16AM
I am fairly new to 3D printing, I just got my first printer back in December. I have been trying to print a part for school and the first time I tried printing it, my printer would not extrude the filament evenly. It would extrude, then not extrude and so on, leaving a very poorly printed raft layer with very weak prints. The whole time the filament made this popping noise as it was extruding. I'm not sure if I have the extruder temperature too high or what. I am printing with PLA at 215 degrees C. I switched filaments to see if that was the problem and it started off printing fine, but once it got done with the raft layers my extruder jammed and wouldn't extrude anymore. I,m not really sure what the problem is, but it is very frustrating not being able to print anything. Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/11/2016 12:40AM by WClampitt1.
Re: sad smileyExtruder Keeps jamming
March 11, 2016 07:11AM
popping noise = almost always moisture in the filament. Try drying it.
jamming = filament out of spec and/or too much retracting and/or fan to cool hotend not running and/or wrong assembly of the hotend etc...You get much beter replies when posting a bit more about the hotend etc

A nice guide to help you with those first prints [www.simplify3d.com]

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/11/2016 07:13AM by Frans@France.
March 11, 2016 07:17AM
Popping noises indicate moisture in the filament, PLA absorbs a LOT of moisture from the air. You have to keep it stored in a sealed enclosure/bag with desiccant or you will have the popping noises and associated poor print surface quality.