Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

High Resolution Extruder Help

Posted by milner 
High Resolution Extruder Help
March 23, 2016 01:05AM
Hello All,

I am new to 3D printing, and am wondering about high resolution with a paste extruder. I would like to print with 100um (100 microns, or 0.1mm) resolution in the x and y axes. The needle extruding the paste does not need to be 100um thin (I would like it to be thicker), but I want to be able to have gaps between x-y layers of paste that are 100um. Basically, it would print something like a maze, with walls made of paste and pathways of 100um in width. Are there any motors that are capable of such fine movement and accuracy? Would calibration be an issue? Thank you in advance, and apologies for my lack of 3D printer terminology/experience!
Re: High Resolution Extruder Help
March 23, 2016 01:15AM
If you swap the x/y motors out of an ultimaker 2 (or any other cartesian machine which uses 20 tooth pulleys) with 0.9 degree steppers (vs the 1.8 degree ones) you will double the resolution to 100 microns per full step.
March 24, 2016 06:41PM
Thanks for the info! That makes sense, so it is pretty much guaranteed the resolution of a cartesian printer with 1.8 degree steppers is 200 microns? I am trying to build my own printer from scratch so to achieve 100 micron resolution would I just need 0.9 degree steppers? Or does the resolution of the printer depend on more than just the stepper motor revolutions? If so, what else would I need to consider to make my printer in the resolution of 100 microns? Thanks again!
March 25, 2016 03:49AM
The resolution is dependant on the steppers, the pulleys and the micro stepping (up to a point)

See [prusaprinters.org] and throw in some random settings
Most Cartesian use 8 tooth 2 mm pitch, which is 5micron resolution on X and Y