Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Father Son Project

Posted by Johnjayjameson 
Father Son Project
March 14, 2017 07:59PM
I have almost no idea what I'm doing.

People on Reddit lead me here.

Son wants to build a 3D Printer. I'm a welder, dabble in computer hardware and maker stuff, I'm using dabble generously.

We have a Vudoo, and have this board ordered.
[doku.radds.org]

I was told it would be better to order the individual parts I need. And directed to get help here.

I want about a 1' cube work area and want it to be fairly fast...

So as an ignorant old guy trying to do something for his son, can anybody direct me any further on procuring motors and equipment?
Re: Father Son Project
March 14, 2017 08:13PM
Hello there's no shame in just buying a kit. Maybe a Prusa 3 kit of some sort. There's usually youtube vids to help the assembly process.
March 14, 2017 08:51PM
Just watched the video...

As a welder, I can build over half that frame...
I mostly just need the components for the axis drives, motors and other components. I'm trying to do this for as cheap as possible... so if I can make it, there's no sense in buying it
March 14, 2017 11:02PM
Cheap and fast will make it shit, remember the triangle, you can only pick two

Cost, Speed, accuracy / repeatability

I would suggest looking at all the designs out there and seeing what you like most, the reprap wiki has most Link: [reprap.org]

Once you know what you want to build, the documentation should tell you all the parts you need
March 17, 2017 06:10PM
Before you listen to any other comments.... What's your budget? I built my printer from extrusion and it cost £500 (ishly), although the number is growing as I add upgrades etc, but you can certainly get a decent printer for 'low' cost. If you think low cost means £200 then you have to choose between speed/accuracy/cost.