Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Air Hockey Implementation of CoreXY

Posted by benjamin_le 
Air Hockey Implementation of CoreXY
March 24, 2017 02:46PM
Hello Forum!

I am new to the 3D printing scene and am learning a lot. For my senior design project, I am making the track movement portion of an air hockey robot utilizing the CoreXY design (http://corexy.com/reference.png).
I am struggling, however, with my unfamiliarity with the equipment and parts necessary for my purposes which is to move a carriage on a 48"x48" 2D plane.

My questions, for now, are the following:
- Can I use 9mm wide GT2 timing belts and avoid having to buy belts that are 15mm wide? staying under budget is tough...
- Are there any helpful tips or common problems you've faced when working with CoreXY?

Here is what I have so far, I used fishing line and eye bolts for my proof of concept: [drive.google.com]

Thank you!
Re: Air Hockey Implementation of CoreXY
March 24, 2017 03:17PM
Also! I am using 1/2" rods for the y axis and 3/8" rods the x axis. Considering the load (small 3D printed carriages, the x-axis rods, and an air hockey mallet that will be hitting a puck), will I have to go up in diameter for structural stability? I'd rather stick with what I have if possible.
March 25, 2017 07:54AM
9 mm belts can take a lot of abuse. How much moving mass will there be in the extruder carriage? How fast does it all need to move?