Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building my own 3D-Printer (Z-Mechanics Question)

Posted by stonecoldfx 
Building my own 3D-Printer (Z-Mechanics Question)
June 25, 2017 10:39PM
Hello Everyone

I dived into the World of 3D-Printing at 18. April 2017 by purchasing a BQ Hephestos 2.
I literally did nothing else the last 2 Months then messing around with my Printer and Fusion360.

Two Weeks ago, I was lucky to get some 50x70 Aluminium Profiles in the Dimensions of 680x680x1000 for free from a good friend. (all mm)

So I started to design my own Big Scale 3D-Printer.

Just to point that out: I am not an engineer or similar. So things could be designed much better or in different ways. I am still in prototyping Phase.
I literally just started drawing directly out of my Head.

Well so here is the Actual Design (It's not finished yet)

Click on the Pictures to enlarge them

3D-Model

FrontHomeRIGHTTOP

Actual Building Process (Takes a while to Print all these Parts with only 1 Printer sad smiley)

20170626_040820

Now the Main Question:

Should I use the Z-Axis Carriage as a moving Bed? ( The XY Print volume would be bigger)
Should the Extruder move along the Z-Axis and the bed be fixed at the bottom?

I am using 12mm Precision Shafts H6 and 8mm Threaded Rods (those rods might be little small? since I did not buy the 1000mm rods yet)

Thx for any Answers.

Best Regards

Steven

PS:English is not my Main Language tongue sticking out smiley
Re: Building my own 3D-Printer (Z-Mechanics Question)
June 26, 2017 02:27AM
Interesting question...
Depending on the XY gantry you're planning, you could split the Y-movement between gantry and bed. ( I suggest CoreXY gantry )
Both movements are usually slower than X-Axis movement can be ( bed and Y-beam are heavier than X ) and by splitting them, they only need to move half as fast each.