Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Reverse Engineering

Posted by Rick Montzka 
Reverse Engineering
January 09, 2008 10:41AM
Greetings All!

I am a teacher at a technical college. I teach mechanical drafting, so I am in the process of making a set of drawings for the RepRap machine. I downloaded a STL file viewer that can measure STL files, and I have started creating solid models of the parts in Pro/ENGINEER. It's been a little difficult working with the STL models to figure out dimensions, so I started this topic to ask questions that someone else may know.

Here's my first question. There is a teardrop shape that is used throughout the design (the corner bracket has many of them). When I measure its angle I get roughly 87.9 to 88 degrees. I've also measured from the arc center to the point of the tear drop and I do not get an even measurement either. Is the tear drop shape supposed to be a right angle (90 degrees)? Is there something special about 87.9594 degrees that I am missing here?

Rick.
Re: Reverse Engineering
January 09, 2008 11:20AM
Rick,

The .STL files for Darwin were originally made using Solid Edge but it is an academic license. The solid edge files are on source forge. I can help you with this if needed.

As for the tear drop I am not sure I thought it was 90 Deg. but it was desighned so that the part can be printed with out a support extruder.

As for the drawings for Seedling I believe there are .dxf files that Zach has made up..

Bruce Wattendorf
January 09, 2008 11:33AM
As far as I know, the teardrop is supposed to be 90 degrees. This is based on the RepRap being able to handle an overhang of up to 45 degrees without support material. Not sure why it's coming out off a couple degrees.
January 09, 2008 04:11PM
Is the STL measuring software free? and what is it please?

Ian
[www.bitsfrombytes.com]
January 13, 2008 10:47AM
Greetings All!