Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building A Delta

Posted by LetumEternum 
Building A Delta
July 28, 2019 10:25AM
Hi guys, so a little over a month ago I finally purchased a HE3D printer from amazon and after playing with it for 2 weeks the power supply started to smoke one night. I ended up returning it and decided that I could put something together that would work better probably only for a little more.

Now before the power supply had failed I had downloaded fusion 360 (never used a cad program before) to learn and to design a new effector to hold an E3D hot end (I know I could have found one online). With the return of the printer, the project had evolved into something else and in the past several weeks I put together something quite neat that I would love to share.

Now I have to say I'm no engineer and have no background in mechanical design or anything like that, so if anything is off that is why.

Here is some info on the entire design thus far.

The distance between the arms is 78 mm (carriage width).

Arm Length 360 mm (not final)

Bed Diameter of 300 mm

Hot End: E3DV6

Board: Duet 2 Wifi

x3 20 mm Piezoelectric Sensors

Frame
Height: 1000 mm
Width: 450 mm Aluminum extrusions + Corners
At the moment my design is setup to uses 2020 Aluminum Extrusions, however, for the height pieces, I currently have Misumi 60 degree extrusions.
With these current extrusions, I have no real way to connect the linear rails, I have however found these extrusions from Germany and would like to try and acquire three.

Linear Rails:
I will be using three HGH15CA blocks (Cheap Chinese ones) I will be replacing the bearings inside with some g5 silicone nitride ones to hopefully improve performance. (I totally know I could use the smaller profile ones but man do I just love how they look). I think I can get away with 800 mm rails, I haven't yet decided on which ones I want yet.

Carriages: