Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CoreXY Design Alternative

Posted by tlewis3348 
CoreXY Design Alternative
November 24, 2021 01:55PM
I'm a mechanical engineer and have been investigating the possibility of building a self-designed 3D printer capable of handling build volumes of 1 cubic meter (or more, depending on what the main limiting factors are). After researching motion systems, obviously CoreXY came up as a popular choice. Two the downsides of the CoreXY design regularly mentioned however is (1) the fact that the belts are complicated to get setup and (2) tensions have to be carefully and tediously balanced.

I'm by no means an expert in understanding the various tradeoffs involved in the design, so I'm assuming I'm missing something, but it seems like a much simpler design is possible. You can see what I've come up with so far here (link). The design is still far from complete, and the stuff that is "complete" is still pretty rough around the edges (e.g., I may cut the number of motors in half and drive both sides of the cross-bar with a single motor, but the mass of the cross-bars may prevent that from being an option). But the basic idea is there, which is to have the gantry connected to two cross-bars instead of just one with motors connected directly to the cross-bars with belts.

Ultimately, my question is twofold:
  1. Why are there no large volume 3D printers?
  2. What am I missing? Why is something similar to my design (or at least something that avoids the complexity involved with the belts) not being used already? Certainly, I'm not the first to think of it. So I must be missing a design decision that precluded its use, but I'm not sure what it is.
Re: CoreXY Design Alternative
November 24, 2021 05:17PM
Look up Ultimaker printers. They use that style of crossed bar gantry. I do like it better than CoreXY. Though Ultimaker uses a cantilever bed, which won't work at your size.