Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How can I learn how Marlin works?

Posted by archy587 
How can I learn how Marlin works?
January 02, 2015 03:48PM
Hey all,

I am no programming expert but I have a general idea. I can write some arduino firmware and upload my own projects to an arduino board. Ive made some android apps and can get them uploaded on my phone.

So, I have the basic idea, and there's some things id love to build into marlin, but I really can't figure out how any of it works! actually, marlin is the only arduino code ive ever seen that opens multiple tabs in the arduino ide when you open the marlin.pde file. I dont even see how the program moves from one tab to the next, or how the arduino chip is doing so much at the same time (e.g. monitoring and pid controlling 3 temps, receiving serial commands, converting to motor output, and sending back serial data). Any of the programs I've written would get bogged down just by the sheer amount of serial data passing between computer and arduino.

So, how does marlin do all this? is there lots of threads going on?

is there any way to sort of step through the files and see how each task is being done and maybe what order everything is done in?

I feel like if I could get a grasp on how marlin is working I could add lots of fun stuff to use all the extra outputs from the mega, but as is, there's built in hardware on the rambo and ramps that I cant even tap into....

any advice on how to learn how this software works would be a great help!

thanks!
Re: How can I learn how Marlin works?
January 02, 2015 09:55PM
Most of it is interrupt driven... so difficult to trace threw.

basically read threw the source files, and ask specific questions
January 02, 2015 11:11PM
I see,