Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

[Solved]Marlin Endstops + Testing issues

Posted by pfinucan 
[Solved]Marlin Endstops + Testing issues
September 09, 2012 07:54PM
UPDATE:

All of the issues described below were caused but a incomplete edit of the configuration file. So if you have any of the following symptoms I would suggest double checking the "#define MOTHERBOARD 33" line to make sure it is 33 for Ramps1.4 and not "3"

The printer communicates but:
1. Motors don't move when commanded
2. A single motor held but didn't move
3. End stops don't register any change

Hi,

So I am new to all this to please excuse me if these are stupid questions.

I built a repstrap and I'm running a Ramps 1.4 board on an Arduino Mega, with Marlin_v1, and have run into some problems. Mechanically everything seems to work. I tested it with the ramps test code (http://reprap.org/wiki/File:RAMPS14_test.zip). But when I try the Marlin_v1 firmware, it communicates fine but nothing moves.

There can be a lot of things that cause this so I was hoping someone could point me to a marlin system check tutorial. Any suggestions?

The first thing I investigated was the endstops. By sending M119 to the printer it tells me everything high, and it doesn't change if I hold down the switch and send M119. I have normally open switches connected to the (-) and the (s) pins. So I have a problem with my end stops. If I send a G code to move it echos that it hit an endstop. If I reverse the endstop logic and then send a G code to move, it echo's ok, but nothing moves.

One thing I noticed is that the Marlin_v1 code includes the following:

// corse Endstop Settings
#define ENDSTOPPULLUPS // Comment this out (using // at the start of the line) to disable the endstop pullup resistors

#ifndef ENDSTOPPULLUPS
// fine Enstop settings: Individual Pullups. will be ignord if ENDSTOPPULLUPS is defined
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_XMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_YMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_ZMAX