Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Software for Gen 6 board as CNC

Posted by ejf28 
Software for Gen 6 board as CNC
May 02, 2013 10:31AM
Hello all,
I am very new to the world of reprap but am an engineer so I decided to attempt to build my own 3d printer / cnc machine. I already had an existing mini mill from Taig Tools so I figured it would be more cost effective, a good learning experience, and overall a better end product once completed by modifying the mini mill to become a cnc / 3d printer. My overall end goal is to have a machine in which I can swap out the head to either be an extruder or a cutter therefore making it able to do both cnc and 3d printing. For my initial project I will focus on making it a cnc machine first to see if I can get that far.

I researched and got some nema 23 motors with the right parameters for what i need, a gen6 printer board, some mounts for the motors, and the appropriate wiring. I have all the motors mounted, wired to the gen6 board, have an old computer power supply hooked up to run the thing, and hooked to my computer (windows) to drive it.

Now is where I need some help. I have tried various software out there to try and run it but haven't had much success. I am using Marlin firmware currently and have tried using Pronterface, Mach3, and a few other free software but none of them "see" my gen6 board except for Pronterface. Pronterface sees it fine however complains that the thermistors aren't hooked up and then errors, stopping any movement. I realize that this is because Pronterface is used for 3d printing and since I don't have an extruder I don't have that part hooked up to the board. Perhaps I need to hook something up to the board so that it will bypass the error? Even if I do bypass that error for Pronterface, I still need some kind of software that will work with driving it for cnc work and not 3d printing.