Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Firmware for delta ?

Posted by fourmi 
Firmware for delta ?
June 29, 2014 04:26AM
Hi
Can anyone know if there is a modified firmware for this style of delta printer ?

I want to build one !!!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2014 04:27AM by fourmi.
Re: Firmware for delta ?
June 29, 2014 06:33AM
Building such a mechanics is the trivial part. I'm sure firmware developers will accept you code changes to get it running.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/29/2014 06:33AM by Traumflug.

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

June 29, 2014 11:43PM
It would be lovely if someone has developed a canned firmware... but well angular/rotational/circular delta is not quite popular.

I'm building one too. Same thoughts as Traumflug, I am ready to make some changes to the firmware. But I'm a newbie to reprap firmwares (this is my 1st 3d printer), so any tips about where should I change/insert the code? Like before some subroutine etc?
June 30, 2014 05:13AM
You can join the queue of those promising to do such things: [github.com] Actual code so far: zero.

June 30, 2014 11:28AM
Hope that it won't be long before the queue starts to move grinning smiley

But back to the topic, I noticed you mentioned the current approach is "is to split all movements into small pieces, recalculate them to the non-cartesian coordinate system, then queue them up as if they were cartesian". Any opensource firmware released for this type of delta? If not, which one do you suggest that I can modify for delta?

I've noticed that most RepRap uses stepper motors but my delta uses servo motors. That makes me confused of where / which to start changing the code. Thanks for your help!
July 01, 2014 07:08AM
It's people like you which have the means to get the queue moving.