Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bricked MKS Base v1.3 after ICSP update

Posted by agehall 
Bricked MKS Base v1.3 after ICSP update
July 12, 2015 01:02PM
So I got my Prusa I3 from China the other day and I've spent the weekend putting it together. Things seemed to go well (a bit too well I guess) and I got to the point where I wanted to calibrate the printer and adjust a few firmware parameters. (At this point, I was able to connect to the printer just fine and control it using Repetier Host!) So I decided to download Marlin and compile the latest release on my own.

As I'm fairly new to all of this 3D printing, I decided to just upload a fairly vanilla configuration, where I just changed a few basic things, just to verify that I had a working toolchain etc. I compiled Marlin using the Arduino IDE and hooked up my ASPUsb programmer to the ICSP port on the MKS-board and did an upload.

Now the display went "blank", just displaying rows and I'm unable to connect to the printer via the USB connection. :/ I've tried reprogramming several times without success. I've verified the ICSP connection several times and just to make sure my programmer isn't the issue, I hooked it up to an Arduino UNO R3 I had laying around and it worked just fine with that, so I'm running out of ideas here.

Anyone have suggestions for where to go next? Surely there must be some way I can resurrect my main board... I'm not sure what is needed to debug the issue, so feel free to ask for more info and I'll post it ASAP.
Re: Bricked MKS Base v1.3 after ICSP update
July 13, 2015 04:29AM
You can´t upload Marlin without reading and perhaps modifying" every" line of the configuration.h.
There is no "vanilla" shortcut unless you have gotten a configuration.h written explicitly for your printer. sad smiley
-Olaf
July 13, 2015 05:23AM