Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Tonokip/RAMPS question

Posted by epengr 
Tonokip/RAMPS question
April 01, 2011 03:01PM
I'm just getting my RAMPS (v1.2 board) going (total noob here), and I'm trying to sort out firmware. Tesla893 or johnnyr seem to be the standards - teacup seems experimental.

A have a couple questions:

according to the RAMPS page the following is needed in pins assignments:

#define EXTRUDER_0_STEP_PIN (byte)32
#define EXTRUDER_0_DIR_PIN (byte)34
#define EXTRUDER_0_ENABLE_PIN (byte)30
#define EXTRUDER_0_HEATER_PIN (byte)10
#define EXTRUDER_0_TEMPERATURE_PIN (byte)2

#define EXTRUDER_1_STEP_PIN (byte)23
#define EXTRUDER_1_DIR_PIN (byte)25
#define EXTRUDER_1_ENABLE_PIN (byte)27
#define EXTRUDER_1_HEATER_PIN (byte)9
#define EXTRUDER_1_TEMPERATURE_PIN (byte)8

but in the telsa pins.h, pin 10 is the FAN_PIN and HEATER_0_PIN seems to be the name used, not EXTRUDER_0_HEATER_PIN? Looking at the firmware code, EXTRUDER_0_* deosn't seem to appear anywhere?

Does the RAMPS v1.2 even have a fan pin? It seems to have dissappeared from the board (to make room for the onboard motor connections?)

Why are endstops not used as travel limits any more in Tesla983? This would make installing min/max switches pointless?

What is configuration.h.dist compared to configuration.h? the .dist seems to have the right (in theory) calibration for my machine, .h seems odd.

Why do both firmwares diable the Z axis when not moving (const bool DISABLE_Z = true)? It seems to me that you'd want those motors powered to keep the z-axis from drifting? granted, the back drive on a 1.25 mm pitch leadscrew is very small, but Z is very sensitive, isn't it?

I think Basic Starter Working Configurations is an awesome idea, and I can't wait until it's populated!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/01/2011 03:02PM by epengr.
Re: Tonokip/RAMPS question
April 01, 2011 11:06PM