Marlin with Azteeg X3 and thermocouple sensor

Posted by cuongvd 
Marlin with Azteeg X3 and thermocouple sensor
October 31, 2013 02:58PM
Hi All,
This is my first build.
I got the Azteeg X3 board and the extruder with thermocouple sensor
Extruder

The Azteeg uses the AD849X chip for the themocouple input (which is 5mV/C)

but Marlin just support thermocouple use AD595 which has 10mV/C

What should i do to make it work ?

By the way, this what i'm making (attached)

Thanks all,

Cuong
Attachments:
open | download - 3D Printer.jpg (591.4 KB)
Re: Marlin with Azteeg X3 and thermocouple sensor
November 14, 2013 05:16AM
change the sensor value to -2 in config file....
January 01, 2014 02:57PM
I have a Azteeg X3 with shield. A K type Thermocouple is hooked up to pin11 for the Heat bed. I am using Marlin.
Setting the Temp Bed sensor to -2(MAX6675) reads nothing
Setting the Temp Bed sensor to -1(AD595) reads 470 (should be 23)

How do I change the readings to be correct for a AD8496 and a K type thermocouple.
I found the below code in the firmware. Can I just change the Formula? If so How?
// Overflow: Set to last value in the table
    if (i == BEDTEMPTABLE_LEN) celsius = PGM_RD_W(BEDTEMPTABLE[i-1][1]);

return celsius;
  #elif defined BED_USES_AD595
    return ((raw * ((5.0 * 100.0) / 1024.0) / OVERSAMPLENR) * TEMP_SENSOR_AD595_GAIN) + TEMP_SENSOR_AD595_OFFSET;
  #else
    return 0;
  #endif
}

Donny

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/01/2014 05:24PM by DonnyM.
January 02, 2014 09:54PM
SO no one has a K type thermocouple working with a Azteeg X3 and Marlin. Bummer
January 03, 2014 08:45AM
Yesterday I got the combination Azteeg X3, Repetier 0.83 fw, Repetier Host 0.95c and K-type
thermocouples to work.

change
EXT0_TEMPSENSOR_TYPE from 1 to 60 and
HEATED_BED_SENSOR_TYPE from 1 to 60 in configuration.h

change
#define TEMP_0_PIN from 13 to 4 and
#define TEMP_1_PIN from 14 to 11 in pins.h
(for the appropriate motherboard type, 34 in my case)