Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Firmware evolution for TIG based Metal 3D Printer

Posted by kolergy 
Firmware evolution for TIG based Metal 3D Printer
June 17, 2014 05:47PM
Hi, I'm trying to develop a metal 3D printer based on the Tungsten Inert Gas (TIG) welding process you can find details there: StrongPrint.

To cut a long story short after some semi manual experimentation I arrived to the conclusion that I need to modify some features of the firmware:

- Control a solenoid valve
- Add measurement of the current or at least the presence of the Arc
- Perform extrusion/retract differently
- Add Arc ignition / extinguish commands

However it is my first time fiddling with the firmware so if you agree I will expose the way I intend to implement it and I will be interested by your comments & suggestions:

1) Starting by the easy bit: Control a solenoid valve, I have noticed that M126/M127 M128/129 commands were already implemented so I guess these can directly be used for the Argon solenoid valve, can even put two smiling smiley

2) Ultimately it will be necessary to integrate a measure of electric potential & current but it is a bit tricky as it needs to be insulated from the control broad due to the EMC generated by the arc so for now I am experimenting with a KY-018 photo resistor to detect the presence of the arc, I guess It can directly be connected in place of one of the temperature sensors. for that it is apparently required to:
  • Create a new calibration curve for the light sensor or when available the current sensor in thermistortables.h specially because I think it goes the opposite way of a thermistor resistance drop when light is present
  • Disable the PIDs in Temperature.cpp
  • Adapt the cold extrude feature as it would be good to prevent extrusion when no arc is present (I'm not sure where it is exactly)
  • Review the display of the values to Repetier (Not mandatory)