Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Understanding Marlin

Posted by Jrodenba 
Understanding Marlin
March 29, 2016 01:56AM
Recently, in an attempt to better understand the deeper aspects of 3D printing (and because I'm bored and want to test my own software engineering skills) I have been reverse engineering Marlin. I hope this is OK since I'm not planning on creating or selling anything with the techniques/algorithms, I just want to understand what's going on in my printer. I have looked for resources teaching the fundamental principles that turn a block of gcode on one end into physical motor movements on the other, but haven't found any (slowly working through the code myself gives me a better understanding anyway).
It has been slow going (although I'm not in any rush), but I haven't hit any obstacles that I couldn't figure out with a little time; until now. I am still relatively new to coding, but have taught myself Arduino, C, C++, and Java so I haven't had too many issues understanding the code, although my question will probably end up being a more of a general coding question, since it specifically revolves around Marlin I hope I can find some answers here.
So.....

My question revolves around pulling info off the SD, the section of code that I'm working on can be found in Marlin_main.cpp, in the void get_command() function, lines 522-571. *I have included the function name from line 415, but have left out the code between lines 415 and 522 since it doesn't have any effect (that I can find) on the following code:
void get_command(){
/*
omitted lines 416-521 
  #ifdef SDSUPPORT
  if(!card.sdprinting || serial_count != 0){
    return;
  }
  while( !card.eof()  && buflen < BUFSIZE) {
    int16_t n=card.get();
    serial_char = (char)n;
    if(serial_char == '\n' || 
       serial_char == '\r' || 
       (serial_char == ':' && comment_mode == false) || 
       serial_count >= (MAX_CMD_SIZE - 1)||n==-1) 
    {
      if(card.eof()){