Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

aluminum casting

Posted by jashenderson 
aluminum casting
February 23, 2011 10:21AM
I am casting aluminum using foam as the original. I am burning out the foam in a kiln. What temp does the foam burn out at? The foam is a Dow high density like that used in building sheet insulation. Can you advise me on venting the investment mold?
Re: aluminum casting
March 10, 2011 11:07PM
Hello,

I work with metal casting but I am not an expert on the lost foam method.
here is what I know about it:
- Typically the lost foam method does not require you to burn the foam in a kiln.
- All you need is the part shape in foam
- You can glue a foam rod to the "foam part" at a location that is not critical ( this will be your pouring site)
- you then need to glue a couple of small foam pieces ( small rods, 1/4 in diameter or so) at the other end of your part in respect to your large foam tube. This will be your venting site.
- Your part should be the lowest point in this system, all rods need to point upward.
- take the assembly and cover it with "green sand" ( pack it as you go) in a box .
- no need to burn the foam out, just pour the aluminum right in and the foam will disappear.

I am thinking you might be talking about lost wax method in which you need to burn out the wax and get the mold to a high temperature.

good luck.
March 31, 2011 05:49PM
As a warning, Burning out or just burning construction grade foam (or any foam) is highly toxic and dangerous. If you are going to do this then be sure to do it in a safe area with no one around while wearing the proper safety equipment (I.E. Respirator, Goggles and Face shield if needed).
June 14, 2011 06:59AM
Hi

I've played a bit with aluminium casting but have not tried the lost wax/foam method. How have you got on with this.