Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First test

Posted by Alec 
First test
January 17, 2012 11:23PM
Hello everyone, and I apologize in advance because I'm a rank newbie. I just completed my build of a Prusa with RAMPS 1.4 and started testing yesterday. All the mechanical movements seemed correct, the nozzle was heating properly, and the thermistor monitoring its temperature. I turned off at that point, because if I started trying to print I knew I'd go all night long, and I had to be somewhat conscious in the morning for work.

Tonight I'm back, and quickly ran through the same tests. Mechanical movements are still fine, but the heat core won't heat, and the thermistor doesn't indicate temperature (yesterday I was reading room temperature before heating, and then could see temp going up and down in tests). I have checked all the wiring, checked that there isn't any voltage applied when I send the command to heat, re-installed the firmware, rebooted the printer and the laptop, but these two related functions just seem to be dead. If anyone has any idea at all what to try next, I'd really and truly appreciate it!

Thanks,

Alec

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/18/2012 01:00AM by Alec.
Re: Nozzle heating and temp reading dead
January 18, 2012 12:59AM
OK, problem fixed. The thermistor was noting but a bad contact (that was a good one the night before, ugh), but the heater coil was... magic. I still don't know what fixed that one, but after about a dozen attempts it just started working.