Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

first layer problems

Posted by atv 
atv
first layer problems
February 12, 2012 01:05AM
Hi,

I am new to 3d printing, and am trying to figure out a lot of this stuff. One problem I have not been able to solve, and I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction, is my first (few) layer(s) always looks aweful.

My printer is using a wade's extruder, 3.0mm ABS filament, heated bed (running at 130C), RAMPS 1.4, Sprinter with Pronterface.

As you can see, I printer this object twice, the top one shows the first layer, the 2nd one shows the last layer. After the first few layers, it seems to print pretty well.

I've tried increasing the temp of the bed in hopes that it will help the ABS stick a bit better, but still no go.

When I print larger objects, if the first layer has a "lead-in" (by printing a thin outline around the entire object), it helps a lot.

What should I try to fix this?

Thanks in advance!
Re: first layer problems
February 12, 2012 04:42AM
It looks like your nozzle is way too high for the first layer as the bottom filaments look round instead of being pressed flat.

At the first layer the nozzle height should be one layer height above the bed (in some cases a little lower if you have problems with it sticking, but that leads to a ridge around the bottom of the object).

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
February 12, 2012 08:49AM
Are you using any tape on your heated bed such as kapton?
atv
February 12, 2012 06:16PM
Thanks guys, looks like Nophead wins the prize of the day! I lowered Z to about 0.3mm above the bed, and the results look much better.

The ones of the left were printed before the adjustment, the ones on the right were printed after the adjustment. The toy hook still doesn't look great, but that is mostly due to the fact that the middle of the hook is unsupported (not flat). The clip, on the other hand, is flat, and it looks great!

Thank you very much for the suggestion!