Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wobbly pulleys - total dealbreaker?

Posted by jkeegan 
Wobbly pulleys - total dealbreaker?
April 12, 2010 06:32PM
Hey,

I've been building my Mendel for a few months now and I finally filed down all three of the axis stepper motors and fitted them with drive pulleys. The repstrap I was using is now in someone else's possession, so unless I call in a favor or two, I'm stuck with the parts I have, so I wasn't able to instead go with some of the alternative pulleys (such as the one with the trapped nut and a set screw).

So the problem is, despite my best efforts, the drive pulleys on all three stepper motors definitely wobble. When setting up the X axis belt, if I had it on too tight, it wouldn't even move (because it would wobble to its lowest position during tightening, holding the motor in one position). I eventually fit the belt much looser, and it does move the carriage, but moving the carriage feels a bit wave like, with it going a bit faster, then slow, then faster, etc.

So my question is, is this a *total* dealbreaker, and I should stop assembly now until I've resolved that (by calling in favors for the alternate pulleys and perhaps purchasing new stepper motors)? Or is it possible that I might be able to get the whole thing printing "somewhat ok" but good enough to print out the alternative drive pulleys myself?

Has anyone tried pushing forward with wobbling pulleys? What were their results?

And lastly, has anyone actually been able to take a wobbly mendel pulley and somehow correct it somehow?

Thanks. Once I'm actually up and running, I expect to be on here far more regularly. I've kept my head down for the most part, just trying to get to a working Mendel.

--Jeff Keegan (Just Another RepRap blog)
Re: Wobbly pulleys - total dealbreaker?
April 12, 2010 08:03PM