Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New Design: The Simplified Ball Bearing Mendel

Posted by j_andberg 
New Design: The Simplified Ball Bearing Mendel
February 03, 2012 04:20PM
Hi All:

I would like to announce the birth of a new Mendel design, the Simplified Ball Bearing Mendel. I have been working on the design, build and documentation for the last 6 months. It feature set includes:

1. Low printed parts count (15 distinct parts).
2, Printable in ABS with heated bed (no tall parts, all thin and flat on the bed).
3. All ball bearings are held in 2 standard housings, a 3 bearing and a 2 bearing housing.
4. Only one fastener, M3x12!!!!
5. Ball bearing design.
6. 623 bearings, same as Huxley.
7. Very easy to adjust.
8. Vertical x belt to eliminate sag under gravity against washers.
9. All basic dimensions same as Sells Mendel (rod length, spacing, jigging; except 2 shorter
smooth rods.)
10. Belt in z, but very much simplified.
11. Able to adjust y belt tension without disassembly of heated bed!!!!
12. English/Metric dual dimensions (mostly): T5 or XL belts, 5/16 or M8 frame, 5/16 or M8 rod.
13. X axis belt returns under extruder, allows Wades extruder with vertical x belt (unlike Prusa).
14. Wade’s or Adrian’s extruder in their proper orientations.
15. Heated bed support at 4 or 3 points for flexible or rigid bed.
16. Simple hand cut frog.
17. Anti-backlash nuts on z (as on Prusa).
18. Uses printed (8 tooth) or purchased (10 tooth) pulleys (adjust code) and motor position.
Strongly suggest use of purchased 10 tooth pulleys.
19. Well integrated support for optoswitches.
20. Optoswitch flags mount with 2 screws, no rotation and hitting the switch housing.
21. All belts travel over 608 bearings to minimize bumps from belt teeth on prints.
22. Uses less than 1.5lb of ABS for a complete set (25% infill).
23. Z axis threaded rod must be M8, all SHCS must be M3X12.