Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Which CAD program? Autocad frame DXF

Posted by proticus 
Which CAD program? Autocad frame DXF
August 22, 2013 07:08AM
I'm new to all of this, so please forgive me if I ask a stupid question. I tried searching for the term dxf and stl and didn't know how else to search for the answer to my question.

What CAD/CAM program do I need to view the dxf file for the i3 frame? I've tried opening these dxf's:

[github.com]
[github.com]

with both DWG Trueview and Mastercam X6 and neither see any geometry. I'm assuming I'm doing something wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Even if it's just a regular old dimensioned drawing.

David

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 08/23/2013 07:26AM by proticus.
Re: Which CAD program?
August 22, 2013 09:47AM
Hi David

I cant open them in Autocad 2007 either ...must be something going on

Just thought i d let you know its probably not you

Good luck

Phil
August 22, 2013 11:01AM
If I could somehow get ahold of a normal dxf, iges, or step file, something that can be opened by mastercam, that would be awesome. I'm completely lost on the openscad stuff. I can't even get openscad to compile scad files from the links I posted previously. I read somewhere that FreeCad can be used to convert a scad file to something usable, but the frame files aren't in scad. They are only posted as pdf, eps, or dxf. The dxf wont open in anything I've got, mastercam shows an error when trying to open the eps file (something about compatability), and the pdf sure looks nice, but is completely useless.....well....I suppose it COULD be usable. If someone gave me one known dimension from the final part. hmmmmmm.......ok....

If someone could look at the pdf for the frame, in the upper left corner there is a hole. Tell me the EXACT diameter of that hole and I'll be good to go. And maybe a second dimension just to be safe. The width of the frame would be great.